Teaching overview

Learning points

  • A continent is a huge landmass with specific geological features.
  • There are seven recognised continents: Europe, Asia, North America, South America, Antarctica, Africa and Australia.
  • 94% of Zealandia is submerged beneath the ocean.

Curriculum keywords

  • Geography
  • Geology
  • Continents
  • Mapping

Read the story

Scientists have proposed that there is an eighth continent, and 94% of it is hidden under the sea!

View the article

Share with students

Spark a discussion

  • What is a continent?
  • How many continents are there?
  • How much of Zealandia is beneath the ocean?

Explore our resources

Complete your lesson with teaching resources on Galapagos volcanoes from Tigtag.

Go to Tigtag

Discover free online CPD for primary science from Reach Out CPD.

Go to Reach Out CPD